0208 594 6930

Container Stacking Cones Provide Stability

Tuesday, 11th August 2009
Stacking cones or twistlocks, as they are also sometimes known, are used to lock two or more containers together when stacked one on top of another. Shipping containers are fitted with corner castings on all 4 corners featuring holes cut out. The stacking cone features a plate with a locating pin on either end which slots into these cut outs. Stacking cones come in two varieties, a locking and non-locking version. The locking version comes with a handle which can be engaged or disengaged to lock or unlock the two shipping containers. Although containers are designed to be stacked it is sometimes necessary to lock them together in situations where they may be susceptible to movement in high winds or where there is a possibility that vehicles or plant could collide with them. In certain cases steel wires can also be used to lash the stacks to shackles fixed in the ground. This method of securing containers can often be seen on board the huge vessels which carry them from port to port. When at sea containers are subjected to high winds and the constant roll of the vessel. When fully loaded containers can weigh up to 30 tons making a 7 high stack of containers quite a force to be rocking backwards and forwards.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire