0208 594 6930

Lockboxes Provide Additional Security

Friday, 4th June 2010
When buying a used shipping container many storage and repair depots will offer you a lockbox as an optional extra. The lockbox consists of a steel box welded to the right hand door with a slot cut into it. This box closes over a lug on the left hand door protecting any padlock from vandalism or tampering. Occasionally these are known by other names such as cowls or locking shrouds and come in 2 different sizes. The smaller size is used when the box is needed for shipping as it will sit flush with the rear corner posts and remain within the ISO dimensions. Boxes can be shipped with the larger cowl however not in the cell guides of a ship as conventional cargo, and will be charged as deck or special cargo. New or “one trip” containers built in China and imported for the U.K domestic sales market will generally have a lockbox fitted ex factory. These will be shipping cowls and their slightly smaller size will restrict which padlock can be hung inside. Most approved storage and repair depots will hold a stock of padlocks suited to this type of lockbox. This system is generally adopted by the many companies offering self storage in London. Lockboxes are an optional conversion and modification , as nearly all shipping containers can be locked with a padlock through the customs seal point in the catches and retainers on the door handles. They will however be exposed to damage by passing traffic or tampering by any unauthorised person attempting to gain entry.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire