0208 594 6930

10ft Containers For Smaller Premises

Tuesday, 18th August 2009
The U.K can be a very crowded place with space in some areas such as London and Essex at a premium. Occasionally containers are required but conventional 20 foot or 40 foot containers are just a bit too big to fit into the desired location. It is possible to have a shipping container converted into any length, making the most of available space. 10 foot containers are one of the most readily available converted containers as splitting a 20ft container in half or a 40ft container into 4 means the remaining units have a good chance of being sold. When buying a cut down container as they are known it always pays to make sure you are receiving a unit that has been converted to a good standard. There are many cheap containers being offered on the internet but the low price is often reflected in the quality of the craftsmanship. A good 10ft container should have fully welded seams. Some companies merely tack weld the blanking sheets on the end of the container and fill in the gaps with mastic. This will lead to the container leaking before too long. It is also important to consider the type of doors you will be getting. Again cheap 10 foot containers will often have flimsy flat panel steel doors fabricated that have poor door seals and can be opened with a crow bar. A good container conversion will always have a pair of original container doors on it. Also you need to ask whether the container you will be receiving includes a lock box? Lifting lugs and fork pockets are another consideration, maybe moving the container around on-site is not of paramount importance to you but when selling the unit on buyers may look for this.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire