0208 594 6930

Container Buildings

Monday, 10th January 2011
Shipping and intermodal transportation were the original intentions for containers when they were first introduced back in the 1970ís. Break bulk shipping and wooden crates were the order of the day back then and the introduction of containerisation revolutionised the industry. Their success was so widespread and the boxes themselves so hardwearing that the combination of mass production and a long lifespan has seen millions of containers spread across every continent. They come in a whole range of sizes and types as well as the standard 10ft , 20ft and 40ft, and are now used for everything from accommodation to artwork. ISO containers are the perfect base for many building projects. Being built originally to carry up to 30 tons, and to be stacked up to 7 high, the designs are stringently tested in factory to be able to withstand the rigours of intermodal transport, rolling seas, and constant handling from ship to shore and rail to road. Many designers have incorporated boxes into recent projects with a current trend for them to be used in design for retail, accommodation and artwork projects, drawing on their edgy urban qualities coupled with a sound base for conversion . Hotels, office blocks, cafes, bars, pop up retail units and exhibition stands have all been converted from shipping containers, a testament to their versatility.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire