0208 594 6930

Container Conversions Can Open Doors

Monday, 5th July 2010
Standard ISO shipping containers come with double doors at one end, usually with 4 locking rods and handles, almost the full height and width of the rear end of the container. As well as providing security, access and weatherproofing, these doors also provide structural properties preventing racking. On occasions a wider door opening may be required, perhaps for long materials such as lengths of steel or pipes being loaded by forklift. Containers being used as display units or exhibition stands also benefit from having a full opening side or sides. Boxes with such modifications or built specifically will have reinforced top and bottom rails to counter the effects or racking and twisting. Side access in containers can be achieved through a variety of methods, the easiest and most common example are single, high security, steel personnel doors. When larger openings are required double doors, roller shutters and sliding tarpaulins are all methods adopted by the industry. When having a shipping container modified the advantage of selecting a bespoke conversion is the option to choose exactly where to place the doors, the door type and size of opening. An approved storage and repair depot will be able to advise you on the best way to achieve your objective that is both feasible and cost effective.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire