0208 594 6930

Where To Load Containers For Export

Friday, 12th February 2010
With so many containers for sale solely for storage and domestic use it can sometimes be easy to forget that their original designation was to be used for shipping. If you are intending to use your container for export then it must be in cargoworthy condition as a minimum requirement. This is a damage/repair criteria adopted by the industry that lays down the maximum amount of damage that is permissible on a box to be considered safe for shipping. The box will also need to have a valid CSC plate (the container equivalent of an MOT) or an ACEP sticker fitted. This sticker means that the box has been inspected and approved as safe for shipping by an approved storage and repair depot. Many shipping lines now require the CSC plate details in advance before they will accept any shippers own equipment. It will sometimes mean paying slightly more for a cargoworthy box as more attention will have to be paid to structural repairs then would normally be needed for basic wind and watertight standard. Once you have bought your box you then need to decide where you are going to load it before it is collected and delivered to the port from where it is due to be shipped out. If you shop around it should not be too hard to find a storage and repair depot that will not only be able to sell you a cheap container, but one that is of good quality whilst also providing storage facilities until it is exported from there.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire