0208 594 6930

Container Security

Thursday, 19th November 2009
Standard shipping containers generally come with at least one door handle pre drilled or cast with a hole. This handle then sits inside a swivelling T.I.R (or customs) catch also pre drilled or cast with a hole. The idea behind this is that a customs bolt or seal can be put through this hole once loaded. These bolts or seals snap shut and can only be removed by breaking them and are usually fixed on by the collecting driver in front of the shipper. This gives the shipper and any customs authorities assurance that the goods have not been tampered with after loading. Once delivered the seals are removed with bolt cutters. When using the container for static use or self storage a padlock is generally seen as a more secure and user friendly alternative to a customs seal. It is possible to fit a small padlock through the TIR catch however most storage units will have been fitted with a lockbox or cowl. The lock box is a steel shroud which is welded to the right hand door and when both doors are closed together a lug in the left hand door fits through a slit on the back. This allows a larger padlock to be fitted and helps prevent any tampering to the padlock. Lock boxes can be fitted to any used container and bought as a separate item. Most new boxes are now fitted with small lockboxes or shipping cowls ex factory

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire