0208 594 6930

Shipping Container Damage Criteria Explained

Monday, 19th October 2009
When buying a container you may be asked what condition you would like it in or whether you intend to use it for shipping or not. Below are some of the more common terms used to describe conditions and their meanings: As is condition Here the container will be in exactly the same condition as it was originally purchased. No repairs would have been carried out and the container could be suitable for shipping however no inspection or repairs would have been carried out and the unit could be damaged. IICL5 sound condition Estimated and repaired in accordance with the latest criteria laid down by the IICL committee, a body which is made up of various container owning companies generally adopted by the industry. Cargoworthy sound condition Inspected and repaired to a standard considered acceptable for shipping by the industry. CSC plated/Shipper As above the box will have been inspected and certified as approved for shipping. Wind and watertight Inspected and repaired where necessary to the minimum standard as required to be suitable for U.K domestic storage use only i.e no holes/splits or major damages impeding door opening functionality or loading.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire