0208 594 6930

Self Storage Containers Make A Good Buy

Thursday, 23rd July 2009
When buying a used shipping container many people do not realise the range of quality that is available. Shipping containers are generally sold once they reach around 7-10 years old, although newer containers are available for sale at a premium. In some cases they are sold because the cost to repair them and return them back into service exceeds the amount for which the previous owner was prepared to pay. In this instance it is always prudent to make sure that the container you are buying is in wind and watertight condition and that any repairs to the structure have been welded correctly. It is not unknown for unscrupulous dealers to sell containers with tape over holes and splits known in the trade as a “flashband” repair. A good container to buy is one that has previously been used for container self storage . Most storage companies will only buy good condition containers in the first instance. They also remain static and are not subjected to the usual handling from port to ship that marine shipping containers face not to mention the constant corrosive sea spray. Another bonus with storage containers is that they are usually already fitted with a lockbox something which most dealers will charge extra for.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire