0208 594 6930

Container Conversions Explained

Thursday, 18th March 2010
The new buzz words in the industry seems to be container conversions with companies springing up all over the web offering modifications and bespoke alterations to conventional ISO shipping containers . Few of these companies are actually carrying out the work themselves with the majority sub-contracting the work to approved storage and repair depots then applying their commission. A container conversion is usually where a box is modified according to a custom design. This can be as simple as adding a high security steel personnel door in the side or front end to very in depth projects such as generator housings and laboratories. With the more complicated designs clients usually work in conjunction with the London depot to create a specification that meets their individual needs. The depot will assist in proposing suitable materials for example to achieve certain acoustic or insulation values as well as fire ratings and structural properties. A balance has to be drawn between the clients vision and achievable engineering that will arrive on time and on budget. Shipping containers are used so frequently as the base for conversion and modification for several reasons. Being designed for intermodal freight transport they are easily moved by many different means. Modular design means they can be stacked and bolted together with uniform sizes and build available easily. Stock levels also play a role, with containers for sale available in large quantities and at relatively cheap prices considering their size and structural properties

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire