0208 594 6930

ISO Containers For Shipping

Thursday, 1st October 2009
Containers come in many assorted shapes and sizes, some built for shipping and others purpose built for U.K domestic use only. When buying a shipping container just specifying the length of the container will not always guarantee standard dimensions. The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) issued standards based upon the US Department of Defense standards created between 1968 and 1970, facilitating smooth interchangeability between the many different modes of transportation around the world. These rectangular stackable containers became known as ISO containers. ISO containers will differ in length, however the width and height will generally be standard sizes i.e 8ft wide and either 8ft 6inches or 9ft 6inches high. Standard lengths for shipping containers are 10ft, 20ft, 40ft and 45ft. There are containers generally built for the bulk grain and powder industry which are 30ft in length and some companies have experimented with containers over 45ft in length for the U.S domestic market, these are however extremely rare. When buying a container for shipping it is always best to opt for an ISO container as non-standard containers may incur special stowage fees as they will not fit in the cell guides of a vessel and cannot be stacked. The same will apply with any companies needing to store your container during or after shipping.

More shipping container news

Copyright © 2021 Bullman Marine Supplies and Containers Limited, 84 River Road, Barking, Essex, London, IG11 0DS

Areas We Cover
  • Bedfordshire
  • Berkshire
  • Bristol
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Cambridgeshire
  • Cheshire
  • City of London
  • Cornwall
  • County Durham
  • Cumbria
  • Derbyshire
  • Devon
  • Dorset
  • East Riding of Yorkshire
  • East Sussex
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Greater London
  • Greater Manchester
  • Hampshire
  • Herefordshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Isle of Wight
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Merseyside
  • Norfolk
  • North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire
  • Somerset
  • South Yorkshire
  • Staffordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Surrey
  • Tyne and Wear
  • Warwickshire
  • West Midlands
  • West Sussex
  • West Yorkshire
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire